Other notable honors include the 2018 Massry Prize given by the Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation to recognize his outstanding contributions to the biomedical sciences and the advancement of health; the 2016 Lasker Award for medical science; the Grand Prix of the Fondation Lefoulon-Delalande from the Institute of France in 2012 and the 2010 Canada Gairdner International Award for his contributions to the field of cardiovascular research. He also received the Helis Award in 2018, and the Science of Oncology Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology and the Princess Takamatsu Award from the American Association for Cancer Research, both in 2016.

Dr. Kaelin is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the American College of Physicians and a Fellow of the AACR Academy. He recently served on the NCI Board of Scientific Advisors, the AACR Board of Trustees, and the Institute of Medicine National Cancer Policy Board.